Home - Competition

After retiring from riding competitively, Dani Devahive created the Promoracing structure in 2002 with the objective of establishing the team at the elite level of national and international motorcycle racing, in distinct categories and competing with various types of machinery.

Devahive therefore began to apply his expertise in the world of racing and expertise in management to creating a sports and technical team, which took only a short time begin to achieve the desired results.

Initially the team took part in the Spanish CEV championship in the four-stroke categories and success was soon to come, as the team achieved the runner-up position in the Supersport class in 2002 and 2003 before taking the title and the runner-up position in the same category, going on to repeat the success over the following two years. The triumphs came with different riders on board, highlighting the quality of the team itself and of the team’s work – making the Devahive’s squad the reference point of Spanish motorcycle racing.

2007 and 2008 marked the internationalisation of the objectives of the racing structure as they became the first Spanish team to participate in the World Superbike Championship – in the Supersport category – in both seasons achieving the recognition of the standout team and rider in the competition. In both of those years the team also won the Spanish titles in the same category and had already gained the confidence of an entity of such importance as the RACC, to create another racing structure which aimed to promote young talents in smaller categories. The result of this alliance was Pol Espargaro’s 125cc Spanish Championship title.

One year later, in 2009, Promoracing took on the challenge of building the first Spanish Moto2 machine, with an eye on the World Championship, which was about to depart from 250cc competiton, to take the step to up four-stroke motorcycles. In addition, the racing structure continued to run the RACC training programme, whilst also overseeing the creation of an entirely female team to compete in the Frigo 24 Hour race at the Catalunya circuit. Meanwhile, at the hands of Aleix Espargaró, the Promoharris team’s adventure continued towards World Championship.

2010 marked the entry of Promoracing into the Moto2 World Championship with actor Antonio Banderas joining the project, attracted by its strength. This was an important challenge and the squad was named the standout team of the season after leading races, notching poles and often mixing it with the top riders, whilst also achieving a return on investment of around €7million in just one year.

From 2011 onwards Devahive’s squad focused on the Moto3 Championship in Spain and on the development of elite young riders through projects with the RACC and the Banco de Venezuela.

The key indication of the quality of the team and their work are the titles won by their riders:

2002 – Josep Sardá – Spanish Championship runner-up (125cc World Championship rider)
2003 – Raúl Jara – Spanish Championship runner-up (125 and 250cc World Championship rider)
2004 – Martín Cárdenas – Spanish Champion (250cc World Championship rider)
2005 – Arturo Tizón – Spanish Champion (250cc World Championship rider)
2006 – Pol Espargaró – Spanish Champion (125cc World Championship rider, Moto2 World Champion and current MotoGP rider)
2007 – David Salóm – Spanish Champion (SSP World Championship rider and current SBK World Championship rider)
2008 – David De Egea – Spanish Champion (SSP World Championship rider)
2009 – Aleix Espargaró – Development rider and national record holder (Current MotoGP rider)
2010 – Kenny Noyes (Moto2 World Championship rider)
2011 – Isaac Viñales – Moto2 Rookie of the Year (Moto3 World Championship rider)
2012 – Alex Mariñelarena – Spanish Championship runner-up (Moto2 World Championship rider)
2013 – Gabriel Ramos – Spanish Championship Rookie (5th place at Albacete) (Moto3 World Championship rider in 2014)
2014 – Arón Canet – Spanish Championship Rookie (Moto3 Rookie and future HRC rider for the forthcoming four years)
2015 – Eric Granado – 6th in the Moto2 European Championship (2 podiums). Regularly among the best
Xavi Cardelús – 16th in the Moto2 European Championship. One of the best newcomers


Back to top